Text You, Later

by jlolb

I was supposed to go on a date last night. I had been set up by a coworker’s mother. A nice boy, she said, that everyone in her office loved. He’s six feet tall, has a full head of dark hair, and he’s 25. I decided I didn’t have anything to lose so I agreed. Ahh nice boys and dating–exciting, right!?

He texted me. He asked me out by text.

We were going to meet at 8 at a bar downtown to have a couple of drinks.

He called on Wednesday night to confirm the details.

Yesterday, I was caught up at work with a late appointment. I was going to leave at 4:30, and while still waiting around 5:30, I was sitting talking with my boss and another woman that works in the office. As we sat there discussing the details of said date, clothing choices, was I going to be crunched for time, etc. I started freaking out a little bit. My appointment wouldn’t be back for another few minutes and then I had to meet with them, drive the half hour back home, find the outfit I prepared mentally, fix my face, get back in the car, drive the 15 minutes downtown–it was going to be crunched. Bleh!!!!!!! Girls, you know how this is.

It was then I noticed the screen on my phone lit up. I reached for it, and while boss and coworker were chatting, I had to laugh. I read the words on the screen. And then I read them again, out loud.

“I don’t think I am going to make it tonight. Sorry. I have been seeing this girl from work and it’s starting to get serious. Sorry for the late notice.”

*Crickets* Followed by ridiculous hysterical laughter and a long conversation about how technology is changing the face of the world and the way people date. So what did I do? I did what any gal in my situtation would do–hit forward and sent the message to all the girlfriends I had spent the last couple days talking about this with!

I was ditched by text.

BY TEXT!

Are you KIDDING ME!?!?!

And, then I have to ask, how serious could it have gotten in the 48 hours between confirming the plans and cancelling them? And do you really wait until 5:30 the night OF to cancel?
As I sat pondering my current situation, I couldn’t help but wonder–is it worse to be asked out over text, or is it worse to be ditched by text?

Ah, 23 and single– it’s fun.

