Date #2

by jlolb

Well, friends. I’ve got news. Date #2 happened. *big sigh*

It was a picturesque date. He invited me to his house to hang out and grill some food. Sounded lovely. It was a fantastic Iowa summer day where the trees stand still and the sky is the brightest blue you’ve ever seen. It was a perfect idea. There was only one problem: there was nothing for us to talk about. I’m not sure why, because I can talk. I don’t even usually have to try to talk. It’s something that comes naturally to me. I don’t know what happened. For three hours yesterday I sat at his house…drinking…eating…listening to music. It was actually quite a nice setting–out on the porch, listening to some Death Cab on the iPod, having a couple of drinks–and truly the only thing missing was conversation.

How could we have been all talked out already? I mean, HONESTLY! WE HAD SPENT ONLY TWO HOURS TOGETHER LAST WEEK AND NOW WE GOT TOGETHER AND HAD ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO SPEAK ABOUT?? HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN?? Nothing. I mean, we got through it all–hobbies, hangouts, parents, siblings, nieces, nephews, vacations, books, movies, music, food–everything. Done.

And, initially, when I went over there, the idea was that we would grill out and watch a movie or something (aka: make out *don’t you judge me!*). Anyway, I’m in the middle of eating this fantastic kabob when out of his mouth comes the clincher of the afternoon:

boy: So, what are your plans for the rest of the evening?
me: *okay! looks like this one is going nowhere* “actually, big plans–going to see some friends and hang out–play some yard games, a typical Sunday evening.” *thinking:yeah, right–hello laundry and dishes….dear self, you’re four cats, two frozen pizzas and a pack of menthol Virginia Slims away from living a life of solitude–please don’t do yourself in.”
boy:oh, cool.
me: Yeah, what about you? What are you going to do?
boy: oh, well, you know, my buddy called and he’s having people over…blah blah…heard: I’m really not that into you, please drink your drink, eat your food and get the hell out of my house so I can hang out with my friends…

Lets just say that it was a very long few hours. In fact, it was one of the most uncomfortable dates I’ve ever been on. Typically, there’s something to talk about, and usually after people have a drink or so, they start to losen up and can talk about virtually anything. Not so much, my friends. I was on a date with a mute.

And it’s so confusing–because if that was the case, if he truly wasn’t that into me, why follow up with a text talking about how much fun you had and wanting to hang out again sometime? I don’t get it!!!!!!!!!!!! Have I told you how much I LOVE dating?

It’s quite a shame, too, because he’s flippin‘ cute.

