Not Home for the Holidays

by jlolb

I knew when I moved out of state that I’d be making sacrifices.  I’d be sacrificing relationships, comfort, rent rates and the morning commute.

When it came to sacrificing relationships, I guess I didn’t acknowledge the affect of sacrificing time with my family-with my sister and her girls.  I didn’t forsee how much that would impact my life–my new life here in CO. 

I’m not “alone” for Thanksgiving–not at all.  I have great friends and this incredible family that I’ve built around me in the last five or six months.  These people have scooped me up and filled my holiday weekend with plans that I’m very much looking forward to. I have lovely relationships and people who make me laugh and realize the positive even when I don’t want to.  But that doesn’t take away from the fact that I want to be in Iowa right now.  Prepping for the holidays.  Thinking about the amount of food that will be consumed in good company tomorrow, right along with the incredible amounts of wine and many, many games of cribbage.  I miss them.  I miss my family.  Terribly.  I mean seriously, look at those sweet babies!!!!  I just want to eat their little cheeks!!

So here I sit, missing them, but enjoying a great glass of Italian red, looking forward to tomorrow and the race I’m running in the morning as well as the mimosa party afterwards and the afternoon/evening spent eating, drinking, napping and watching football–it is what it is–it’s Thanksgiving, and don’t think for a moment that I have lost sight of that which I am thankful for.

