Headed Out…to change a few things.

by jlolb

I was so excited to get home tonight.  I couldn’t wait to get out of traffic that doubled the length of my evening commute.  Watching the red tail-lights stacking upon each other much like flourescent dominos, I nearly lost my mind for the 45 minutes i sat, going 6 miles an hour. I was looking forward to a nice big glass of the German Reisling the company is unveiling come the new year of which I had a sample bottle in the fridge.  I couldn’t wait to unwind, breathe deeply, and go to bed early.

When I came in to the kitchen tonight to heat up the soup my friend (who doesn’t think I eat a balanced enough diet and so provides that which she approves of at least once a week) brought me today, I noticed the green envelope on the counter with very familiar handwriting on it.  Anyone who knows me knows I love mail.  Especially unexpected mail. 

And the card was beautiful.  My friend Tiff sent me this great note.  The art on the card was divine, but the story on its cover was even better.  It said ” she packed up her potential and all she had learned, grabbed a cute pair of shoes and headed out to change a few things…Her heart glowed with a degree of happy assurance.”

This card and the sweet note inside made my night. It made me so, so  happy. I have missed my old friends so deeply since I made this move and taken on this new life.  To have sweet reminders of why I am so grateful for them is one of the greatest things.

I am happily assured.  I am still learning what I love and what I want out of my still newborn, not even crawling yet, really, Denver existence.  I know I miss my friends and sometimes I am lonely, looking for the right relationships…but when it comes down to it, I think I am on the right track to build.  I have a great foundation including one of my best friends in the world whom I have known for years and the others I have met–the ones who have adopted me right into their circles, families, traditions.

It’s a good life.  And  against the Christmas spirit glowing in our house, I am reminded…and it’s so, so sweet.

